ECTRIMS Honorary Members

Honorary Members of the Council may be nominated, based on their outstanding contributions to the field of MS, their support of ECTRIMS and their acknowledged international reputation in the field. For details of the criteria and benefits of Honorary Membership and how to nominate a candidate for Honorary Membership please click here, or contact

Professor Oded Abramsky
Hadassah University Medical Center
Department of Neurology
Jerusalem, Israel (appointed 2012)

Professor Michel Clanet
Hôpital Pierre Paul Riquet
C.H.U. Hôpital Purpan
Department of Neurology
Toulouse, France (appointed 2014)

Professor Giancarlo Comi
Scientific Institute San Raffaele
Department of Neurology and INSPE
Milan, Italy (appointed 2014)

Professor Franz Fazekas
Medical University of Graz
Department of Neurology
Graz, Austria (appointed 2018)

Professor Hans-Peter Hartung
Heinrich Heine University
Center for Neurology and Neuropsychiatry
Düsseldorf, German (appointed 2019)

Professor Eva Havrdová
Charles University
Department of Neurology
Prague, Czech Republic (appointed 2015)

Professor Ludwig Kappos
University Hospital Basel
Department of Neurology
Basel, Switzerland (appointed 2013)

Professor Catherine Lubetzki
Salpêtrière Hospital
Department of Neurology
Paris, France (appointed 2016)

Professor David Miller
University College London
UCL Queen Square Institute of Neurology
London, United Kingdom (appointed 2019)

Professor Xavier Montalban
St. Michael’s Hospital
Department of Neurology
Toronto, Canada (appointed 2017)

Professor Tomas Olsson
Karolinska Hospital
Department of Clinical Neuroscience
Stockholm, Sweden (appointed 2017)

Professor Chris Polman
VU University Medical Center
Department of Neurology
Amsterdam, Netherlands (appointed 2013)

Professor Per Soelberg Sørensen
Department of Neurology
Copenhagen, Denmark (appointed 2015)

Professor Alan J. Thompson
University College London
Institute of Neurology
London, United Kingdom (appointed 2012)

Professor Maria Trojano
University of Bari
Department of Neurology
Bari, Italy (appointed 2016)

[fMRI during simple motor task; healthy volunteer (top) and PP MS subject (bottom) Photo M. Filippi, Ospedale San Raffaele, Milan
Pathology of SPMS Photo H. Lassmann, University of Vienna
MS t-cells Photo H. Lassmann, University of Vienna
Arcuate fasciculus impacted by MS lesion Photo M. Filippi, Ospedale San Rafaelle, Milan
Photo Congrex
optic disc palor after acute ON. Courtesy A. Toosy, London